Cheapest ELD options
A cheapest list needs public prices for the same kind of bill. One Garmin part number has a hardware price. The other vendors checked the same day do not publish an ELD price. There is no cheapest ELD in this set.
Data from FMCSA, updated October 20, 2026 (US Eastern).
Criteria
- A price counts only when it is on the vendor’s own page and is an ELD hardware price or an ELD service price.
- A hardware list price is not ranked against an unpublished subscription, including a subscription the vendor says includes hardware.
- Customer stories, penalty ranges, and GPS fleet plans that the vendor did not label as an ELD price are not used.
- If the page does not list a price, the cell says “Price not published.”
Garmin International
- Public ELD price
- Part 010-01876-00 lists $249.99 USD. Registry rows: not checked.
- Hardware cost model
- “Subscription fees: None.” The product page does not name an ELD ID.
- Company name on the export
- 3 registered, 0 revoked, 0 self-revoked
Geotab Inc.
- Public ELD price
- Price not published
- Hardware cost model
- “Both the GO Core Plan and GO Plan include Geotab hardware in the subscription price. There is no upfront device cost or installation fee.” No subscription dollar amount.
- Company name on the export
- 6 registered, 0 revoked, 0 self-revoked
Motive Technologies, Inc.
- Public ELD price
- Price not published
- Hardware cost model
- The vendor pricing URL redirects to a contact form and does not list a public price.
- Company name on the export
- 1 registered, 0 revoked, 0 self-revoked
Samsara Inc.
- Public ELD price
- Price not published
- Hardware cost model
- The vendor pricing page asks for fleet size and does not list a public ELD price.
- Company name on the export
- 2 registered, 0 revoked, 0 self-revoked
BigRoad Inc
- Public ELD price
- Price not published
- Hardware cost model
- The vendor pricing page does not list a public price.
- Company name on the export
- 7 registered, 0 revoked, 0 self-revoked
EROAD
- Public ELD price
- Price not published
- Hardware cost model
- The vendor pricing page does not list a public price.
- Company name on the export
- 1 registered, 0 revoked, 0 self-revoked
Azuga, Inc.
- Public ELD price
- Price not published
- Hardware cost model
- The page lists GPS fleet plans. It does not state an ELD price, so none is shown here.
- Company name on the export
- 6 registered, 0 revoked, 24 self-revoked
What you can compare, and what you cannot
You can compare a published number with another published number. $249.99 USD is a published hardware list price, and the same page says subscription fees are none. Geotab publishes a hardware model without a number: included, no upfront device cost, no installation fee, price not listed. Motive and Samsara publish neither a number nor a “no upfront cost” sentence on the pages checked October 21, 2026.
That leaves no cheapest ELD. The Motive vs Garmin eLog page is the place to read the Garmin part number next to Motive’s unpublished price. The Geotab vs Samsara page is the place to read included hardware next to a gateway whose price is not listed.
Sources
- FMCSA registered ELD list
- Garmin eLog product page — checked October 21, 2026
- Geotab software packages — checked October 21, 2026
- Motive pricing URL — checked October 21, 2026
- Samsara pricing page — checked October 21, 2026
- BigRoad pricing page — checked October 21, 2026
- EROAD pricing page — checked October 21, 2026
- Azuga pricing page — checked October 21, 2026
Check an ELD by name, company, or ELD ID · Revoked list
Questions
- What is the cheapest ELD?
- There is no cheapest ELD in the pages checked on October 21, 2026. Garmin part 010-01876-00 lists $249.99 USD and “Subscription fees: None.” Geotab says hardware is included and does not list the subscription price. Motive, Samsara, BigRoad, EROAD, and Azuga do not publish an ELD price. A hardware list price cannot be ranked against an unpublished monthly price.
- Is $249.99 the price of every Garmin eLog ELD ID?
- No. $249.99 USD is the list price on the product page for part 010-01876-00. That page does not name ELD IDs GE1A01, GE1I01, or GE1D01. GE1D01’s registry name lists dēzl models. Those rows do not carry a price in this dataset.
- Why isn’t Geotab the cheapest if hardware is included?
- Geotab’s page says “Both the GO Core Plan and GO Plan include Geotab hardware in the subscription price. There is no upfront device cost or installation fee.” It does not publish the subscription dollar amount. Included hardware with an unknown monthly price is not comparable to $249.99 USD and a stated subscription fee of none.
- Can Azuga’s GPS prices be used?
- No. Azuga’s pricing page lists GPS fleet plans. The dataset note says that page does not state an ELD price, so none is shown. A GPS plan is not copied in as an ELD price.
Related comparisons
- Best ELD with no contract
No checked vendor publishes a contract length or the words “no contract.” Garmin’s eLog product page states “Subscription fees: None.” The other checked pricing pages are silent.
- Motive vs Garmin eLog
Motive does not publish an ELD price. Garmin lists $249.99 USD for part 010-01876-00 and states subscription fees are none. That page does not name an FMCSA ELD ID.
- Geotab vs Samsara
Geotab says GO plan hardware is included and lists no dollar price. Samsara lists no dollar price. Geotab Inc. and Samsara Inc. have only registered rows on this export.